Main Menu

Prestigious Awards                                                        Year wise click here 


Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Prize 

Dr Javed N Agrewala (2004)

Dr GPS Raghava (2008)

National Bioscience Award for career development

Dr Anand Bachhawat (2000)

Dr Pradip Chakraborti (2001)

Dr Rakesh K Jain (2002)

Dr GPS Raghava (2005)

Dr Javed N. Agrewala (2006)

Dr Dibyendu Sarkar (2011)

Dr Rajamohan (2013)

Dr Pawan Gupta (2015)


Jagadish Chandra  Bose (JC Bose) National Fellowship Award 

Dr Pradip Chakraborti

Dr GPS Raghava

Shri. Om Prakash Bhasin Award

Dr. Girish Sahni, Director, IMTECH has been honored with “Shri Om Prakash Bhasin Award 2013” in the field of Health and Medical Sciences. This award is given for scientific work, primarily done within India and which is of relevance to India and other developing countries. The award was presented to Dr. Sahni at an Award Presentation Ceremony held in New Delhi, on November 1, 2014  by Prof M G K Menon, Advisor (ISRO), Department of Space, Govt of India and Former Minister of Science & Technology, Govt of India. The award carries an amount of Rs. 1,00,000/- , a citation and a plaque.

This award has been conferred in the past to, among others, Dr G Padmanaban, Dr K K G Menon, Sh Sam Pitroda, Dr K G Narayanan, Prof Samir K Brahmachari, Dr P K Rajgopalan, Dr V M Katoch and many more scientific luminaries


CSIR Technology Award – 2014

CSIR-IMTECH was awarded CSIR Technology Award – 2014 for the category “Business Development & Technology Marketing” by Honorable Science and Technology Minister Dr. Jitendra Singh on Sept. 26, 2014 in New Delhi.  The award carries a cash prize of Rs. 2.00 lakh, a plaque and a citation. The team consisted of Sh. R. Soni, Head PTM and Dr. Girish Sahni, Director.


National Intellectual Property (IP) Award 2014

Institute of Microbial Technology, Chandigarh has bagged the prestigious National Intellectual Property Award 2014 in the category of Top R & D Institution in Healthcare. IMTECH has been in the fore-front in developing innovative technologies in biotherapeutics, especially, life-saver drugs such as streptokinase and its advanced versions. Dr. Girish Sahni, IMTECH IPR and PTM team received the citation and memento from Hon’ble Justice Mr. S.Ravindra Bhat, Judge, Delhi High Court. Mr. Amitabh Kant; Secretary; Department of Industrial Policy & Promotion was also present on the occasion along with other dignitaries.

The National Intellectual Property Awards are conferred to recognize and reward creators / innovators of IP who have contributed to harnessing the country’s intellectual capital and creating an eco-system that boosts creativity and innovation. 


Ranbaxy Award

Dr Girish Sahni, in the area of "Pharmaceutical Sciences" for his outstanding contributions towards the development of innovative clot bluster technologies for the treatment of cardiac associated maladies such as heart attacks, strokes etc.
Dr Amit Ghosh, ex-Director, in the area of "Medical Sciences - Applied Research" for his innovative research leading to the creation of a genetically engineered oral recombinant vaccine for cholera and for his incisive work in the field of cholera epidemiology. (1998)

FICCI Award 

Dr CM Gupta, Ex-Director, IMTECH (1994)

CSIR Technology Award- "Process Technology Shield"

for the indigenous development of a technology for natural streptokinase. This award was received by Dr. Amit Ghosh the then Director on behalf of the other members of IMTECH team consisting of Dr. Girish Sahni (team leader), Dr. U.C. Banerjee, Dr. Naresh Kumar, Mrs. Paramjit Kaur and Mr. Anil Jaryal at an impressive ceremony for celebrating the CSIR Diamond Jubilee at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi on September 26, 2002.

CSIR Technology Prize for Biological Sciences and Technology

IMTECH along with Vittal Mallya Scientific Research Foundation, Bangalore for developing a 

high osmotolerant and ethanol tolerant genetically modified strain of Saccharomyces cerevisiae for producing alcohol from molasses. (1994)


Dr Girish Sahni for the year 2000 in the area of Biological Sciences & Technology. Dr. Sahni was conferred this award in Mumbai by the Hon. John Prescott, Dy. Prime Minister of U.K.

National Biotech Product & Process Development and Commercialisation Award 

Dr Girish Sahni (2002)

NASI-Reliance Industries Platinum Jubilee Award

Dr GPS Raghava (2009)

Lakshmipat Singhania-IIML National Leadership Award 

Dr GPS Raghava (2011)

Bill & Melinda Gates Grand Challenge Award 

Dr Ashish (2012)


Innovative Young Biotechnologists Award 

Dr Krishan Gopal (2011)

Dr Pankaj Soni (2011)

Dr Pawan Gupta (2009)

Thomson Reuters Research Excellence India Research Front Award
Dr GPS. Raghava 

NASA Tech Brief Award 
Dr S Mayilraj for Description of a novel species Tetrasphaera remsis isolated from the Regenerative Enclosed Life Support Module Simulator air system.

AVRA Young Scientist Award
Dr P Guptasarma (2005)

Novo Nordisk Life Science Research Award

Dr Rakesh K Jain (2000)


CSIR Young Scientist Award

Dr Amitabha Mukhopadhyay (1991)

Dr P Guptasarma (2000) 

Prestigious Honours

Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, India

Dr GPS Raghava

Dr JN Agrewala

Dr Jagmohan Singh

Dr GSahni

Dr KL Dikshit

Dr RK Jain

Dr P K Chakraborti

Fellow of Indian National Science Academy 

Dr P Chakraborti

Dr Javed N Agrewala (2009)

Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, India

Dr Amit Ghosh (1999)

Dr Girish Sahni

Dr Pradip Chakraborti 

Dr GPS Raghava 

Fellow of the National Environmental Science Academy (FNESA) 

Dr Swaranjit Singh Cameotra 

Fellow of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences 

Dr Rakesh K Jain

Fellow of Association of Microbiologists of India
Dr Girish Sahni

Fellow of the American Society of Microbiology, USA
Dr Jagmohan Singh

Fellow of the National Academy of Biological Sciences (NABS)

Dr Swaranjit Singh Cameotra (2008)

Fellow Association of Microbiologists, India

Dr Swaranjit Singh Cameotra

American Association of Immunologists
Dr Javed N Agrewala as regular member

Guha Research Conference

Dr KL Dikshit elected as a member

Dr P Guptasarma elected as a member 

Dr Jagmohan Singh elected as a member

Dr Dibyendu Sarkar elected as a member 

Dr YS Narayana Rao Oration Award

Dr Rakesh K Jain (2004)

Pitamber Pant National Environment Fellowship Award

Dr Rakesh K Jain (2004)

"Environmentalist" by National Environmental Sciences Academy
Dr Swaranjit Singh Cameotra

A.K. Bose Memorial Award by Indian National Science Academy

Dr P Guptasarma (1996) 

B.N. Singh Memorial Lecture Award of Indian Society of Parasitology

Dr CM Gupta

Dr Swaranjit Singh Cameotra was awarded:1st Prize for essay on .Team CSIR in the labs and fields. organized by CSIR-SSBMT by the DG CSIR in Lucknow on the 20th February 2005.


AMI-ALEMBIC Award by Association of Microbiologists of India

Dr Rakesh K Jain (2002)

CSIR Champion for health by DG CSIR

Dr G Sahni 

Vice-President of the National Academy of Sciences

Dr Amit Ghosh (2001)

TWAS-USM visiting researcher fellowship

Dr K Rajagopal for year 2011

Ranbaxy Science Scholar
Ms Hardeep Kaur 2009

Raman Research Fellowship
Dr S Mayilraj 2009

Rajbhasha Implementation by TOLIC, Chandigarh 

IMTECH awarded First position for year 2010-11

IMTECH awarded second position for year 2008

This site is best viewed in Mozilla Firefox, Internet Explorer 8 and above at screen resolution of 1024 x 768 and above.